the following is a biographical story that I found on The Disciples of Design website.

“After my first job at Allied International Designers in London I then moved on to Lloyd Northover designing RSC programmes and posters, brochures for IBM and magazines for BT. After that I joined Michael Peters Group working mainly on annual reports and brochures. Then I moved on to David Davies Associates where I was heavily involved in 2D and 3D projects for Next and WH Smith.

With those experiences under my belt, I teamed up with some former colleagues and mates from Lloyd Northover and together we set up Giant. We operated really successfully for over 11 years doing an enormous variety of projects including identities, print, packaging, POS, exhibitions, DM and a bit of advertising. Our success was partly to do with there being a design boom at the time – everyone wanted to get the designers in and we thought we’d have a bit of that. Along the way we picked up a fair smattering of awards and we did some great work. Our motto at Giant was ‘Have a laugh, do great work, make some money’. We succeeded most of the time but we found ourselves in a bit of financial poo at the end of 11 years and decided to sell Giant to PR juggernaut Burson Marsteller. They bought us for £67.30. The design boom was well and truly over.

I wasn’t happy working in the PR environment so I jumped ship and at that time, after about 23 years working and living in London, I was delighted to team up with Mr Casey again (he taught me at Preston) and become joint Creative Director at The Chase. I did lots of work I was really proud of there, including an identity for Manx Telecom, the graphics at the National Football Museum and The Faith Zone at the ill-fated Dome (nothing to do with my work). I was at The Chase for 5 years and then was offered the opportunity of joining True North as joint Creative Director. This I jumped at and have been working on significant projects for Royal Mail, Tate, National Portrait Gallery, Durham University, The Royal Collection and Bristol Museums.

I’m cock-a-hoop at the moment as I have recently left True North to set up my own consultancy – Alan Herron Stuff – snappy name, eh? I want to produce great work for people who want me to produce it for them.”

Gustav Klimt at Liverpool, The Tate

;

The type of work that Heron is involved with is exactly what I want to be doing. Packaging, branding, posters, advertising – that’s what makes me tick in the design environment. It is what I’m used to doing on a smaller scale, and doing that for a living would be amazing. The image above is a project that Heron was commissioned to do for the Tate gallery, of ran exhibition about Gustav Klimt. As well as designing posters and T-shirt advertising, I picked this because I think it is a more powerful image. The symmetry and identical models make for a compelling image in my opinion.

Alan Heron

