I started the typographic work with a feeling of slight trepidation. I was not sure how I’d be able to make my work stand out from the rest of my class mates – due to the nature of simply tracking the letter forms. I guessed that the phraseology would be the stand out feature, so I thought of various different ways that could be interpreted as each respective law.

Because I am tracing preselected typefaces, there is less creativity available. I particularly liked Bifur typeface. It has a bold look that stands out, but has an interesting style, that could almost be classified as illustrative in style.

An example of the Bifur type face. I like the use of shading and the varying blocks of  color.

For some letters, I don’t think it works particularly well – such as for the letters “C” and “S”.

The type face is a good choice for work that needs to invoke the Art Deco era.

It was designed by Mouron Cassandre, who was a Ukrainian-French painter, commercial poster artist and typeface designer.

Bifur was released in 1929 by Deberny & Peignot of Paris as a single font and a two-part, two-color font. Apparently, it wasn’t a commercial success, but it did create quite a stir in the typographic world. It also inspired many other artists to create their own typefaces

 

I like the stye David Carson has, in particular, for one of his typefaces used an interesting method that almost looks like screen printing was involved.

I looked at this type of method with John and am probably going to be using a similar method for my Poets & Prophets assignment – of which the next one is about using print methods of production.

 

One of the typefaces that I have to use is Hoefler Text which comprises a family of typefaces from the dawn of the digital age.

 

Jonathan Hoefler founded the company in 1989, a time when typography for for the digital age was in its infancy. Very few of the type companies had embraced electronic publishing in a significant way, and those that had were only just starting to remaster their most famous fonts for use on PCs & Macs.

The trouble now was that the companies were trying to make their best typefaces when their production processes were at their weakest. This meant that lots of typefaces gained a bad name, and became some of the worlds worst fonts.

Fonts such as Ariel became notorious for the wrong reasons. Because they were used by everyone all the time, there was hardly any uniqueness and originality with the work. This becomes apparent today when, in some of my past lessons and assignments, Dan has admonished me for using the most usual text that I possibly could.

This is partly down to laziness – but since this has been pointed out to me, I am naturally not doing this any more. So many students, upon opening a new document, perhaps for an assignment or dissertation – or even, as is more appropriate to my course, a poster or advertising campaign, will not even change the font – so all students are using the same typeface – and this does not go down well with the tutor!

 

Ref: http://www.prepressure.com/fonts/interesting/bifur

Ref: http://www.ted.com/speakers/david_carson.html

Ref: http://www.typography.com/fonts/font_overview.php?productLineID=100010

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

